Current Lab Members


Menachem Elimelech's picture Menachem Elimelech
Roberto C. Goizueta Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering and Professor of Forestry and Environmental Studies

Ph.D. Candidate

Douglas Davenport's picture Douglas Davenport
Ph.D. Candidate

Novel Materials for High Pressure Reverse Osmosis

Akshay Deshmukh's picture Akshay Deshmukh
Ph.D. Candidate

Using Transport and Process Modeling to Advance Membrane-Based Processes at the Water-Energy Nexus

Camrynn 'Cammie' Fausey's picture Camrynn 'Cammie' Fausey
Ph.D. Candidate (co-advised by Julie Zimmerman)

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

Water Treatment with Multifunctional Photocatalytic and Adsorptive Nanomaterials

Cassandra Porter's picture Cassandra Porter
Ph.D. Candidate (co-advised by Mingjiang Zhong)

NSF Graduate Research Fellow


Surface-Modified Membranes for Tailored Separations

Xuechen Zhou's picture Xuechen Zhou
Ph.D. Candidate (co-advised by Jaehong Kim)

Advanced Membranes Development with Atomic Layer Deposition

Ph.D. Student

Yuhao 'Sam' Du's picture Yuhao 'Sam' Du
Ph.D. Student

High Pressure Reverse Osmosis

Ryan DuChanois's picture Ryan DuChanois
Ph.D. Student

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

Membrane Development for Water Purification

Sohum Patel's picture Sohum Patel
Ph.D. Student

Selective Ion Electrosorption

Cody Ritt's picture Cody Ritt
Ph.D. Student

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

Relating Molecular Characteristics of Solutes to Membrane Permselectivity

Julianne Rolf's picture Julianne Rolf
Ph.D. Student

NSF Graduate Research Fellow

Advanced Membrane Processes for Water Treatment

Evyatar Shaulsky's picture Evyatar Shaulsky
Ph.D. Student

Membrane-based Processes for Utilization of Low-grade Waste Heat

Postdocs and Fellows

Razi Epsztein's picture Razi Epsztein
Postdoctoral Associate

BARD-Vaadia Postdoctoral Fellow

Ion Transport and Selectivity in Membranes and Nanopores

Vasiliki 'Vicky' Karanikola's picture Vasiliki 'Vicky' Karanikola
Postdoctoral Associate

Agnese Nelms Haury Program Faculty Fellow

Membrane Processes at the Water/Energy Nexus

Xinglin Lu's picture Xinglin Lu
Postdoctoral Associate

Transport Phenomena and Advanced Materials in Membrane Processes

Wen Ma's picture Wen Ma
Postdoctoral Fellow

Reactive Membranes with Self-cleaning Properties 

Mohan Qin's picture Mohan Qin
Postdoctoral Researcher

Modeling and Simulation of Capacitive Deionization Process

Meng 'Chris' Sun's picture Meng 'Chris' Sun
Postdoctoral Associate

Novel Membranes for Water Purification

Xiaoxiong 'George' Wang's picture Xiaoxiong 'George' Wang
Postdoctoral Associate

Development of Novel Reactive Ceramic Membranes

Zhangxin Wang's picture Zhangxin Wang
Postdoctoral Associate

Solar thermal Desalination Enabled by Membrane Distillation

Visiting Ph.D. Student

Yanfang Guan's picture Yanfang Guan
Visiting Ph.D. Student

High Water Recovery from Inland Brackish Water Desalination

Rhea Verbeke's picture Rhea Verbeke
Visiting Ph.D. Student

Development and Characterization of Nanofiltration and Reverse Osmosis Membranes

Chi Wang's picture Chi Wang
Visiting Ph.D. Student

Reclamation of Energy and Water via Electrochemical Osmosis

Yumeng Zhao's picture Yumeng Zhao
Visiting Ph.D. Student

Mechanism Analysis of Ceramic Membrane Filtration

Visiting Scholar

Mohamed Khayet's picture Mohamed Khayet
Visiting Professor

Fulbright Scholar

Membrane Science; Nanotechnology; Membrane Processes; Nanofluids; Phase Change Materials; Solar Energy

Lei Zhang's picture Lei Zhang
Visiting Fellow

Hydrophobic Microporous Membranes and Membrane Distillation